UH Next 2+2 Transfer Program
Houston Community College, Houston, Texas, United States
Large Texas community college with very low per-credit international tuition and a 2+2 assured-admission pathway (UH Next) into University of Houston.
What you need
- TOEFL 79 or IELTS 6.5 or PTE 53iBT (or 550 PBT / 213 CBT). Overall. PTE Academic.
- Open-admission community college; no minimum GPA published for general F-1 admission. Applicants under 18 must document U.S.-high-school-diploma equivalency.
- Completed Form I-20 Application
- Passport biometric page copy
- Financial documentation
- $75 non-refundable application fee
- English proficiency score if submitted
- Proof of funds: USD 22,980HCC's own official I-20 cost-of-attendance example for 24 credit hours/year: Tuition & Fees incl. insurance $7,980 + Living $13,400 + Books $1,600 = $22,980; add $4,400 per dependent.
Deadlines
- Date not published Fall intakeHCC's own page publishes a recurring 'June 15' deadline without naming a specific year; do not quote a 2027 date without re-checking the live page closer to the cycle.
- Date not published Spring intakeRecurring 'October 15' deadline, year not stated.
- Date not published Summer intakeRecurring 'March 15' deadline, year not stated.
Where it leads
UH Next - a 2+2 program with assured admission from HCC into University of Houston bachelor's degrees (College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences) for students meeting approved standards. HCC also runs co-enrollment Engineering Academies with University of Houston and Texas A&M, and a pathway to University of Houston-Downtown.
Visa
F-1.
Things to know
Open to international F-1 applicants.
No agent/recruitment-partner page found on hccs.edu. Admission GPA minimum and the exact year for deadlines are not stated on the source pages (deadlines are published as recurring annual dates) - re-confirm the year closer to the 2027 cycle. This is the single lowest total official cost figure found across the whole dataset.
Sources
- hccs.edu/applying-and-paying/tuition-calculator $227/credit international tuition rate
- hccs.edu/student-life--services/international-student-services/frequently-asked-questions Official I-20 cost-of-attendance example
- hccs.edu/student-life--services/international-student-services/foreign-credentials English proficiency minimums
- hccs.edu/admissions/apply--enroll/international-student-application/first-time-f-1-student Required documents and intake deadlines
- hccs.edu/programs--courses/university-transfer--degree/transfer-planning--advising UH Next and other named transfer pathways